Staff and Leadership

history1First Baptist affirms that all members of the congregation are ‘ministers’, keeping with the historic Baptist conviction that God works through all of the gathered people, not just a select few. The church staff are therefore persons who implement the ministries of the church on behalf of the whole congregation. Our pastor is full-time, and our support staff are employed at quarter time, all working together to help First Baptist congregants bring about their vision for ministry and mission. FBC is ultimately led by its elected lay leaders, who work alongside the pastor and staff to serve and equip all the members of the church for ministry. See below for our current lay leaders.


Bob Wiegers is the pastor of FBC Bennington, beginning December 2015. He and his family are very eager to seek the Lord’s blessings together in prayer, in preaching and teaching the Bible, and in fellowship and service together. You can learn more about him on the About Pastor Bob page. You can contact him at


Charlie Marshall is our Organist and Pianist, contributing wonderfully to our worship services in many ways. Charlie also teaches music at various area venues, as well as private piano, organ, and voice lessons. He can be reached at


John Harwood, III, is the Sexton. The longest serving present staff member, John has been at First Baptist since 1996, providing care for the facilities and keeping the building humming.


Child  care is available for children from infants to preschoolers. Sunday school classes meet during the 2nd half of the worship service, and are held for preschoolers to elementary-aged children


FBC is ultimately led by its elected leaders. See below for our current leaders and board members.

Church Officers
Lisa Flynn, Church Clerk
Sandy Harrington, Treasurer
Byron Spafford, Financial Secretary
Grace Wilson, Moderator

Board of Church Life
Aleta Boutin
Rhonda Harmon
Sandy Harrington
Cindy Marsh, Chair

Board of Trustees
Randy Bates
Lisa Kramer
Lisa Flynn, Chair
Allyn Lindsey
Byron Spafford

Church Cabinet
Lisa Flynn, Church Clerk/Trustees Chair
Cindy Marsh, Church Life Board Chair
Sandy Harrington, Treasurer
Byron Spafford, Financial Secretary
Grace Wilson, Moderator